2016 Annual Celebration

The MetroHartford Alliance celebrated its 15th anniversary during the 2016 Annual Celebration, held Tuesday, April 19 at The Bushnell. The program featured a live version of our 'Pulse of the Region' radio show with special guests from across our City and Region.

 The Alliance could not achieve its mission of competing aggressively and successfully for jobs, capital and talent without your support. Thanks to all who have contributed to the success of our first 15 years! We especially want to recognize the following organizations and individuals.

Click here for a gallery of event photos courtesy of the Hartford Courant. 

For past episodes of our weekly 'Pulse of the Region' radio show on iHeart MEDIA, click here.

Annual Celebration Participants

Heartfelt thanks to:

  • The Bushnell, Event Resources, iHeart MEDIA, Max Catering and Events, and Red Thread for their help with our Annual Celebration;
  • Our onstage guests, Bonnie Malley, Adam McLaughlin, Ojala Naeem and Joe Savage; and
  • Our call-in guests, Chip Beckett and Hartford Mayor Luke Bronin.

2016 Leadership

Alliance Board

Officers of the Board

Joe Savage*, Webster Bank
Chair, Alliance Board

George M. Thomson
*, Filomeno & Company, P.C.
Vice Chair, Alliance Board

Gordon Scott
*, Scotts’ Jamaican Bakery
Vice Chair, Alliance Board

Walter Harrison, University of Hartford
Treasurer, Alliance Board

Bonnie Malley*, The Phoenix Companies, Inc.
Immediate Past Chair



Members of the Board

Maryellen Allen, Prudential Retirement

Chip Beckett, Capitol Region Council of Governments

Joanne Berger-Sweeney, Trinity College

Andy Bessette*, The Travelers Companies, Inc.

Paul Brant, UnitedHealthcare

Randy Bumps, United Technologies Corporation

Gregory Butler, Northeast Utilities

Sanford Cloud, The Cloud Company, LLC

Adrienne Cochrane, Urban League of Greater Hartford

Christopher Dadlez, Trinity Health – New England

Eric Daniels, Robinson & Cole LLP

William DiBella
, The Metropolitan District Commission

Kevin Dillon, Connecticut Airport Authority

Matt Fleury, Connecticut Science Center

Bob Flynn, Connecticut Convention & Sports Bureau

Rhona Free, University of Saint Joseph

Michael Freimuth, Capital Region Development Authority

Joseph Gianni, Bank of America

Bob Guenther, Webster Bank

Jon Hitchcock, Fox Connecticut Media Group

Jeffrey Hoffman, Hoffman Auto Group

Keith Hubert, PwC

Elliot Joseph, Hartford HealthCare

Andrew Julien, Hartford Courant

Linda Kelly*, Hartford Foundation for Public Giving

Michael Klein, The Travelers Companies, Inc.

Adam McLaughlin, Webster Bank

Richard Orr, University of Connecticut

Robert Patricelli, Women’s Health USA

Timothy Perra, Stanley Black & Decker

Leslie Robertson, Webster Bank

David Robinson, The Hartford Financial Services Group

Mark Santos, Aetna Inc.

Mark Scheinberg, Goodwin College

James Shmerling, Connecticut Children’s Medical Center

Bernadine Silvers*, Hartford 2000



* Executive Committee member

** Mitch Jackson of UnitedHealthcare is HYPE Chair Elect.

Alliance Initiatives & Committees

Investor and Staff Representatives

Budget & Finance
Walter Harrison, University of Hartford
Linda Mitrook, MetroHartford Alliance

Connecticut Health Council
Amy Cunningham, Connecticut Health Council

Connecticut Insurance and Financial Services Cluster
Michael Klein, The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Susan Winkler, Connecticut Insurance and Financial Services Cluster

Hartford Chamber of Commerce Board

Gordon Scott, Scotts’ Jamaican Bakery, Vice Chair
Julio Concepcion, MetroHartford Alliance

Adam McLaughlin, Webster Bank
Mitch Jackson, United Healthcare, Chair Elect
Julie Daly Meehan, MetroHartford Alliance

International Business Council
Leslie Robertson, Webster Bank
Rebecca Nolan, MetroHartford Alliance

Legislative Affairs Council
Bob Guenther, Webster Bank
Patrick McGloin, MetroHartford Alliance

Strategic Partner Council
George M. Thomson, Filomeno & Company, P.C., Vice Chair
Nancy Wheeler, MetroHartford Alliance


Past Chairs and Presidents

Chairs of the MetroHartford Alliance

Hugh MacKenzie  2001
Ramani Ayer  2002–2003 
Richard Booth  2004–2005 
Andy Bessette  2006–2008 
Chuck Shivery  2009–2011  
Mike Matteo  2013–2014
Bonnie Malley  2015–2016
Joe Savage  2016–

Chairs of the Hartford Chamber of Commerce

Peter Kelly  1999–2001
David D’Eramo  2001–2003
Jerry Long  2003–2005 
Gene Sheehan  2006–2007
Yvon Alexandre  2008–2009
Carlos Mouta  2010–2012
Lawrence Davis  2013–2014
Gordon Scott  2015– 

Chairs of the Connecticut Capitol Region Growth Council

Karl Krapek  1999–2001 
Kevin Flaherty  2001–2003 
Lee Olivier  2004–2005
Charles Harvell  2006–2007 
Mickey Herbert  2008–2009 
Elliot Ginsberg  2010–2014
George Thomson  2015–

In Special Recognition

Eileen Kraus, Chair, Search Committee for the Alliance President and CEO, 2001 

Past Presidents

Tony Giorgio, Connecticut Capitol Region Growth Council, 2001 
Tim Moynihan, MetroHartford Chamber of Commerce, 2001 

Interim President & CEO of the Alliance

Ted Sergi  2010 

Alliance and Affiliated Investors

  • Click here for a list of Alliance Leadership Investors and Strategic Partners.
  • Alliance Regional Investors include The Associated Construction Company; CENTERPLAN Development Company; Clark Insurance; Covenant Preparatory School; Easterseals; Fidelco Guide Dog Foundation; Fiduciary Investment Advisors; Foley Carrier Services; Fuss & O’Neill, Inc.; Greater Hartford Transit; Hartford Municipal Employee’s Federal Credit Union; Integrated Employer Solutions; Leadership Greater Hartford; Marchese Consulting; MRW Connected, Inc.; O’Connor Davies, LLP; Sandler Training; Uber; and Willis Towers Watson.
  • Alliance Municipal Investors include the Town of Avon, the Town of Bloomfield, the City of Hartford, the Town of East Granby, the Town of East Hartford, the Town of East Windsor, the Town of Enfield, the Town of Farmington, the Town of Glastonbury, the Town of Granby, the City of Hartford Department of Development Services, the Town of Hebron, the Town of Manchester, the Town of South Windsor, the Town of Suffield, the Town of Vernon, the Town of Windsor Locks, and the Town of Windsor.
  • Hartford Investors can be found in our online Membership Directory.
  • Click here for a list of Connecticut Health Council Founding Partners.
  • Click here for a list of Connecticut IFS Cluster Members.
  • Thanks to our 2016 Conference Room Sponsors, Oak Hill and Connecticut Center for Advanced Technology.

Alliance Team and Partners

To view a full list of Alliance team members, click here.


Business for Downtown Hartford

Jane Macy-Painter
Teri Ward

Hartford Business Improvement District

Jordan Polon
Chip McCabe

Hartford Consortium for Higher Education

Sue Bowen-Harris
Eliana Cardeno
Emily Carver
Patty Damiani
Liz Dupont-Diehl
Zakiya Edens
Martin Estey
Richard Hegeman
Connor Henderson
David Johnston
Nicole Martinez Jones
Keylon Levine
Tammy Lorenzo
Justine Meyer
Amy Molinaro
Welbith Mota
Courtney Sak
Richard Sugarman

The iQuilt Plan

Sue Gellerman
Jackie Mandyck

Read Our 2015 Year in Review!

2015 Year in Review The 2015 Year in Review features an in-depth look at the Alliance's initiatives and progress over the past year.