Your source for the news, information and events related to The Alliance

Media Contacts

Find a Contact

Contact Newsroom

For questions about the newsroom, please contact:

Investor News

Filter investor news by investor level:
All | Leadership | Strategic | Regional | Hartford | Municipal

CONNECTICUT TROLLEY MUSEUM RECEIVES $50,000 HISTORIC PRESERVATION GRANT

trolley

Trolley Car #3001 was built in 1922 by the Wason Company of Springfield, Mass. It ran on the Torrington to West Winsted line until 1929 when service was discontinued and then it was moved to New Haven where it completed service in 1948. Car 3001 ran at the Museum for many years until it was removed from service in the 1980's due to disrepair. It was always popular with visitors and motormen alike, especially in the summer, as all three front windows opened allowing for a wonderful breeze through the car.

“The frame-up restoration of the car has been underway for 1.5 years and the funds provided through the DECD grant will ensure the completion of the project within the next two years. The work includes repairing the steel frame, installing a new floor and roof, the restoration of all the interior woodwork including the seats. The electrical and air systems will be thoroughly reconditioned and the four motors will be overhauled,” said Galen Semprebon, Board Director and Shop Manager.

“The Good to Great grant is designed to be a catalyst that moves the needle of an organization’s ability to better serve its audience in ways that would otherwise be difficult or impossible. This program blends the importance of art, historic preservation and tourism and reinforces the message that Connecticut’s cultural resources are vital to the lifeblood of our state. I cannot think of a better example that demonstrates the goals of the program than the Connecticut Trolley Museum’s Connecticut Company Car #3001 restoration! Trolleys were critical in the development of transportation nationally and particularly in Connecticut; whole neighborhoods sprang up around the newly-laid trolley lines. Adding the 1922 trolley car into the fleet gives museum visitors a unique experience, allowing them to experience a time before the automobile dominated the streetscape.  This funding partnership between the Department of Economic & Community Development’s Office of the Arts, Office of Tourism and State Historic Preservation Office, will not only bring visitors from East Windsor to the Museum, but also from across Connecticut and beyond. DECD is thrilled to help make this project a reality and looks forward to seeing Car #3001 in action,” said Todd Levine, Historian at the State Historic Preservation Office.

The Connecticut Electric Railway Association, Inc. is the owner and operator of the Connecticut Trolley Museum. Founded in October 1940, it is the nation's oldest incorporated organization dedicated to the preservation of the trolley era. The organization is led by a 12-member board of directors.

Notes to Editors

You are invited to send a photographer/reporter/camera crew to the check presentation

Date: July 18th

Time: 11:00am- Location: CT Trolley Museum, 58 North Rd, East Windsor CT, 06088